As Faculty in The Department of Sociology at UCSB we stand with George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, Tony McDade, and other victims of state violence. We are outraged and profoundly saddened by their deaths, and know these most recent violent acts are only the latest in a long and painful history. We stand against that history and the continuing presence of anti-blackness and state-sanctioned violence against Black people. We acknowledge and mourn the deep pain racialized state violence causes marginalized populations, many of whom are part of our community. As researchers of social interactions, social relations, inequality, and injustice we know that these egregious incidents do not occur in isolation. They are part of social systems designed to create and reproduce social misery for some and power for others. We remain committed to eliminating racism, sexism, and other oppressive systems in our community, in our nation, and across the globe. We see this work as fundamental to our work as sociologists and as teachers and mentors.

As a Department, we are committed to addressing the challenges of our time, which include systemic racism in the criminal justice system, in access to socioeconomic and educational opportunity, and in health care, where we

have seen the disparate impact of COVID-19 on people of color and immigrants throughout the United States.

We stand in solidarity with our Black graduate and undergraduate students, faculty, and staff who experience trauma, secondary trauma, exclusion, and isolation from racism. As a department, we commit to reflecting on and seeking out best practices on how to improve our support of all Black members of our department and the UCSB campus community.

We stand with those seeking justice in the streets of Minneapolis and across the globe.

#blacklivesmatter

The Faculty of Sociology at UCSB,

Victor Rios Avery Gordon Denise Segura Kevin Whitehead **Eddie Telles** John Foran Maria Charles **Tristan Bridges** Sarah Thebaud Simonetta Falasca-Zamponi Cate Taylor Hannah Wohl Jean Beaman Jan Nederveen Pieterse **Howard Winant** Noah Friedkin

Beth Schneider

Jon Cruz

Tara Tober

Geoffrey Raymond

Verta Taylor

Reginald Daniel

Terrell Winder

Kevin B. Anderson

Gordon Abra

Erika Arenas

Alicia D. Cast

Mario Espinoza-Kulick

Alex Espinoza-Kulick

Cristina Awadalla

Ryan J Fisher

Matthew Fritzler

Trevor Auldridge

Jonathan Ibarra

Andrew McCumber

Chris Santizo-Malafronti

Marisa Meno

David Feldman

Cierra Raine Sorin

Ry Brennan

Marcelle Cohen

Fátima Suárez

Ben Manski

Rich Applebaum

Sarah Fenstermaker

Emily Fox

Gabrielle Gonzales

Jason Budge

Jamella Gow

Sabiha Mohyuddin

Lauren Bickell

Zakiya Luna

Laura Halcomb

Jasmine Kelekay

Yucheng Liu